GHD appreciation post! 7 years and still going strong!

This is just a short post to share my appreciation of the GHD hair styler.

When I started my first job I decided that I was going to invest in 2 things with my first few months pay; an iPod nano and a GHD hairstyler. This would have been back in 2007. I did some research and spoke to my hairdresser about which hairstyler I should purchase and the result was a GHD. It cost me $360 in a pack with some GHD hair products and this amazing travel toiletries bag which I use every time I go away.

Back then, my friends thought I was crazy spending $360 on a hair straightener. That was 7 years ago and my GHD is STILL going strong! I found the bag and receipt in a cupboard recently and was shocked to realise that I’ve had it for 7 years and it hasn’t missed a beat! And just quietly, all of the friends who criticised my decision now either own a GHD or wish they did!

This is a pick of the pack I bought… I was actually surprised to find it. It was their 2007 Summer Travel Pack! The new packs are much prettier! But I LOVE this travel bag!!

 

ghd-travel-set

 

 

Some of you may be thinking I probably don’t use it a lot. I will admit, I haven’t used it as much over the last couple of years (maybe only twice a week) as most days I don’t even have time to do my hair for uni. But more recently I’ve taken to using it nearly everyday because I can’t get away with looking like a scruff at work! Similarly, when I first purchased it, I used it every day without fail so it definitely got a workout! I have not used any other styling tool on my hair in the last 7 years; my GHD does it all.

BUT, having cost me $300 (if we ignore the pack) I was very careful to avoid damage where possibly by, for example, folding the cord as it was originally folded when putting it away and NEVER wrapping it around the straightener itself. So perhaps that’s a tip for prolonging the life of your GHD!

It will no doubt be a very sad day when my GHD dies, but when that day comes, there is no doubt in my mind that I will go and buy a new one!

I would 100% recommend anyone considering buying a GHD to do it! Probably the longest lasting electrical good I’ve ever owned that hasn’t broken or become obsolete!

 

One thought on “GHD appreciation post! 7 years and still going strong!

Leave a comment